Luck, The Golden Age of Wireless, and the woes of an Arby’s meat slicer.

I apologize for the length of this blog before you begin reading. 😉 Anyway… 

I title the blog so because, for the first time in nearly three weeks, I had to work. I wasn’t sure why my place of employment decided to cease putting me on the schedule for almost a month. Yesterday I discovered it was because they thought I couldn’t work Friday, Saturday, and Sundays.

I did tell them a long time ago not to schedule me on those days if it could be avoided. I didn’t think they would, instead of scheduling me on days I’d prefer not to work, not schedule me at all. It was just a misunderstanding. Oh well. We’re all human, so things like these happen from time to time.

Now that the manager lady knows what times I am available, I will get more hours. Even with things looking up at my place of employment, I can still safely say that I would prefer not to work in foodservice. I would actually prefer to be in some sort of artistic work study or internship type of thing, but beggars can’t be choosers. In all my summer’s job searching, Arby’s was one of only two places that called me in for an interview. The first call I got would have just been a seasonal job anyway, so after that I would have still needed another job.

So, even though I may not enjoy it, I still have a job, and a fairly secure one at that. It could always be worse. I could have a horrible job, co-workers out to get me, and bitchy supervisors always looking for an excuse to rag on me or get me fired.

In that aspect I’ve had good fortune. In fact, this weekend has already been chock full of it.

Today, I did nothing more than enjoy our high speed DSL internet acess. I began a picture in Paint Shop Pro 8 that I hope will be Mr. Thomas Dolby’s birthday present. In case you are new to my blog, I am on a forum on Mr. Dolby’s official site, and the moderator of that forum is also in charge of the website, and has regular contact with Thomas. So, I am hoping that, through her, my present can be delivered to Mr. Dolby. I want to also write a fairly short fan letter to go with the picture.

Anyway. Before I went to work, I stopped at the second hand store in town to shop around. I found an LP by Stevie Nicks, and the classic U2 album ‘The Joshua Tree’ on LP also. In addition, I got a crapload of retro 80s earrings, a cd by the Escape Club (the group behind the great 80s tune ‘Wild Wild West’), and Debbie Gibson’s album ‘Electric Youth’.

But what really shocked me is when I laid eyes upon a casette of Thomas Dolby’s album ‘The Golden Age of Wireless’. Which was ironic, because before I left, I was having a discussion with a member on the forum on Mr. Dolby’s official site. The discussion: it was hard to find TD stuff in a second hand store, I was a lucky gal for finding his ‘Astronauts and Heretics’ album in one.. Just wait till I tell them I found another gem today.

Also, at Econo foods, I picked up a Beanie Baby bear that had yet to grace my 35+ collection. My other purchase there was a Tab energy soda thing, to keep me going at work.

 Anyway. Work was interesting today. For the first like, 15 minutes (in which we only had like, 2 orders) I fumbled with the sandwiches a bit, seeing as I hadn’t made one for three weeks, but I soon got back to my former speed.

When I had to clean the holding oven (where the unsliced beef is stored), I didn’t drain the bottom enough, so I created a small pool of stagnant water in the middle of my working area, which I had oh so much fun mopping up.

Doing dishes wasn’t particularly interesting, except for the fact that a line to a future song came to me. The last time a possible song line came to me at work, it was, oh snap, whilst doing the dishes. Perhaps it’s because the dishes doesn’t really require a lot of thought to do, so my mind wanders to other places. I had either “Electric Youth” by Debbie Gibson or “Europa and the Pirate Twins”/”Eastern Bloc” by Thomas Dolby stuck in my head the entire three hour shift, which made for quite the odd mood.

But you’ve probably come to expect that from one such as myself by now.

Well, seeing as this blog is plenty long, I shall cut you off for now. 😉

Leave a Reply

