Like a bridge over troubled water, I will lay me down.

So, it’s been a while since I’ve bothered to write in here. There’s no particular reason for it, I guess I haven’t had a lot to say. I particularly detest trying to write a halfway interesting blog entry when I have nothing good with which to occupy the entry.

I got into a bit of an argument. Actually, I’d say it was a great deal bigger than a bit of an argument. I was on the couch, indulging my inner child with “Lilo & Stitch” on the tv. My father got home, and asked if I’d looked for a job today. I told him one place had the pleasure of my applying there. After that, I don’t distinctly remember what he said, it was something to the effect of ‘how could I think that applying at one place constituted looking for a job’.

After that, much like a high speed car chase, things just went out of control. As corny as that analogy may sound, it’s the only way I can think of to describe what happened.
There was a lot of shouting. We passed the blame around like we were playing a game of freaking hot potato. It was insane. Truthfully, I’m not sure what I was hoping to accomplish, straying into that wordly minefield.

As ignorant as it may make me sound, I have to state that I’ve probably learned more about life in the past three or four weeks than the rest of my entire life put together. It makes me wonder if I’m just slow, or if my unintentional underlying self righteous attitude was hindering my progress.

I’ve learned I liked to blame other people for shortcomings I possessed. It seemed it was easier to comprehend if it wasn’t directly my fault, which I now know is insane. I’ve also learned that sometimes, I wouldn’t admit if I wasn’t good enough to do something. We all make mistakes sometimes. Sometimes that’s just  how we learn the right thing to do, by doing the wrong thing first. I’m not sure why I didn’t know any of this earlier. It seems so very simple to understand now, I’m not sure exactly why I couldn’t wrap my mind around it before.

All in good time, I suppose.

Still.

In other news. The one application I did put in today was at a smallish restaurant on main street. I filled out the application right there, and talked to who I assume was the manager about my previous foodservice experience. I even went so far as to put on the application and verbally tell him that I would be willing to do dirty jobs like cleaning the toilet, and mopping the floor, that sort of thing.

The only other interesting thing I did today was in choir. We are presently working on coreography for songs we’ll be performing in our Spring variety show. The powers that be decided that some of the previously learned moves would be tweaked a bit, resulting in mass confusion and, as the choir teacher put it, “an interesting interpretation” on the established coreography.

With that being said, I’d like to briefly comment on some of the feedback I’ve gotten. I appriciate the fact that you don’t mind taking some time out of your internet browsing to comment on my blog, but please, if you’re going to bother commenting at all, don’t act like an ass. You can get your point across perfectly well without making your comment a personal attack on my pathetic existance, or acting like a bitchy, middle aged woman going through menopause, one such tornado who needs an outlet for her blind fury.

With that being said, I bid you adieu. I look forward to seeing you during my next episode.

lol at dual meanings.

2 thoughts on “Like a bridge over troubled water, I will lay me down.

  1. I’ve been stuck away from here for a while – I’m sorry! You’re putting together some great writting while having some tough times: stick with it. Your posts on TMDR are real great, keep it going!

  2. One of the challenges with having an open blog – and having been honest about your perceived shortcomings and challenges – is that you invite comments from folks who are both supportive and kind as well as from those who are going to be outright mean in their “directness” of response. I notice that you have been more circumspect in what you post about your personal trials out on the Dolby forum – that will likely serve you well as far as getting the cranky comments from folks. Some people just need to take a chill pill and remember what it was like to be young and facing all sorts of Life Experiences. 🙂 I think I’m lucky there was NO Internet when I was your age. I don’t think I would have fared very well.

Leave a Reply

