Who’s gonna tell you when it’s too late… who’s gonna tell you things aren’t so great…

-“Drive”, by the Cars.

Well, hello there. Today has been infinately better than the rest of my week. As you probably know if you read this regularly, on Tuesday of this week, I injured my back at work. Still,  I almost think it was developing before, and work just irritated it. Anyway.

 Since Tuesday night I’ve been taking Motrin 800 and 10mg muscle relaxant, and those, coupled with taking it easy, have worked wonders. Today, I found myself almost back to my full range of motion. I was even able to lay down and get back up without being in pain, so I can finally sleep in my own bed, instead of being confined to the armchair in the living room.

I still have to be a bit careful and watch what I lift and how I move, but by my next workday, Saturday of next weekend, I should be alright to go back to work.

I’m going to call a day in advance and ask my boss if they can just give me a couple rooms for that weekend, so I can ease back into working. I don’t want to come back that first day going full blast; I don’t want to work so hard that the newly healed back strain resurfaces. Hell no. Once is one time too many, trust me.

Anyway. My day was, once again, not all that exciting. I did get on the computer though, something I avoided before, due to my lack of being able to sit up properly. I even felt decent enough to go out to eat with the family.

I’m just soooo thankful that I’m starting to feel decent; I was beginning to think that I was going to be a cripple forever. You know, getting that injury has really made me respect people who have physical disabilities that limit their movement; it’s very frustrating.

The people that have a permanent physical disability are much worse off than I was, even at my most painful spot. For me, the pain will probably be completely gone by next week. The people who have a permanent disability have to live with it every day. I honestly do not know how some of those people get through each day. I couldn’t do it; they have more courage and stamina than I could ever dream of having. And the best part is that some of them deal with 10x more shit than I ever have, and they still have a positive outlook on life. They still put on a smile and try to make the best of their situation.

I think there’s something to be learned from those types of people. Us ‘normal’ people complain about petty little things. There are people lots worse off that are more positive about life than the priveledged people. Sometimes, it makes me feel like a spoiled brat. I’ll complain about something petty and insignificant, not even thinking about the people who have so much less than I do and still keep their chins up and try to make the best of what they were given.

Damn.

Anyway. I’m not sure what the plan is for tomorrow… Since I’m starting to feel better, my parents may have me do a few chores around the house, but hopefully not too much. I don’t want to rush into it all of a sudden, just because I am no longer in constant pain (it’s more of a dull ache now). I hope they will understand this and not just see it as me trying to get out of work, like usual. I am making an effort to change.

It’s hard, though; when the parental units have dealt with my manipulation and lying so much over the years, it’s hard to see when I am being geniuine. I completely understand, but that doesn’t make it any less frustrating.

Still. I’m just so glad I can move halfway normally. I can even sit in chairs normal. I do still have to shift my weight strangely getting off our futon; I swear, that thing wants to eat anyone who sits on it, it’s damn near impossible to get off of.

Anyway. I am still open to comments and such, a fact I think most of you have forgotten how to do. 😉

I’m a bit more mellow now than I used to be, so I won’t bite your head off if you leave me a strange comment.

Still. How can I be so okay, yet I still can’t look at his picture without wanting to cry my eyes out?

Who fucking knows.

Leave a Reply

