Gotta let it go…

-Def Leppard.

I apologize. I had a hell of a time picking a song title or lyric to use, and this was the best I could come up with! ^^;

Anyway, I have some okay news.

You know that creepy guy at work (the oaf)? The one who was slow, mean, foreboding, and all that jazz?

He got fired.

I wouldn’t know this yet, but my mother went in to give her hours (she helps out during weddings/family reunions) and ask about my brother and I’s hours this week.

I didn’t mention this before because my brother hadn’t talked to the boss lady yet (he did that this morning), but the oaf actually said some things to my brother that it’s not appropriate for an adult of 30+ years to say to a 16 year old. I don’t think that factored into his getting fired, since he was fired before today. Still. I’m so glad he got fired. Personally, if hiring people were up to me, I wouldn’t have hired him in the first place.

But then again, even though he does give off this unmistakable vibe that sets off one’s fight or flight senses, it wouldn’t be fair to not hire someone just based on a feeling.. Sometimes these feelings, or first impressions, can be wrong… So I guess I wouldn’t have known straight away..

Even so. I’m so glad I won’t have to worry about working with him again.

Plain and simple, he downright scared me. So much so that I wouldn’t disagree with him or even say anything because I was afraid it’d set him off. I mean, he wasn’t one of those people that will explode the second you disagree with them.. Still.

Once when he was angry for some reason (I think it was the boss telling him something), while washing dishes, he was throwing and shoving shit around. Even dishes and other breakable things. I mean, what had happened if he’d chucked a coffee pot and the glass had flown everywhere? I was right goddam there. Could have poked my eye out or something. But enough about that.

Another work related thing. Originally, the boss had planned for my brother to work Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, and for me to work Saturday and Sunday, but my brother offered me Friday.

Inner conflict! When I heard that, I was like. Dammit. Even my brother knows that I need the money worse than he does, so I’ll end up working it. I know I need to, and will end up telling my brother that once he gets home.. It’s just one of those things that you know you ‘have’ to do, but you really don’t want to. It’s not even that bad, at all, and what would I be doing at home but sitting on my ass all day?

That’s kinda what I like about this job, though. What with lifting big stacks of plates and running all over the restaurant, it’s like they’re paying me to exercise all day. xD

One thing that does get on my nerves is, out of all the hired people around the restaurant, dishwashers are the only ones without set shifts. I guess we’re supposed to work from 8am-3pm. But we never get out at 3.

Now granted, I know everybody has to stay until the work is done… And it’s not a big problem for me because while working like 10 hour days isn’t ideal, I can handle it. I would just prefer not to. But then again if wishes were horses, beggars would ride, you know? I actually just thought of this because the other day when I was working a day, the oaf was supposed to be in at three. I believe I said this before, but he worked from 8-noon, and was then supposed to come back at three, and work the evening. My brother was scheduled for the evening, and wasn’t supposed to come in until 6. Well, I left around 5:30 I believe, and the oaf didn’t show up until right after my brother got there.

One more thing. PM Park has a few hotel rooms. My mother mentioned to the boss about how I know how to clean hotel rooms, and some time next week (like Wednesday or Thursday), I’m going in at 8am… I will of course need someone to teach me the specifics (what chemicals they use to clean the bathroom, where the laundry room is, etc) but it’s a job I can pretty much just jump right into. It might take me a couple weeks to get back into the housekeeping swing of things but if I had any doubts as to my ability I’d have told my family not to mention it at all.

ANYWAY, ENOUGH OF THIS DISHWASHING CRAP, I GET MY FILL OF IT AT WORK. ^^;

Actually I lied. It was payday today, which I thought was strange since we usually get paid every two weeks, on Friday. But anyway.

This time I got like 254 bucks. I need to save out like 75 bucks. First reason is, I want to start making payments on my $1178 medical bill. My dad and I are supposed to make a trip to Mercy sometime and work out a payment plan where I pay 25 or 50 bucks a month on it… I’ll probably lean towards the $25 a month, but whatever happens happens. The next reason I need to keep some out is, pretty soon here I’ll need to refill my prescriptions and that costs about 30-40 bucks. Depending on if the idiots at the pharmacy get me Claritin D versus the generic version that I was actually prescribed. Dur.

Anyway. That leaves me $179 to start up my savings account again, which I will be doing tomorrow after work. I’d have done it tomorrow morning but since I’ll be taking that shift for my brother I’ll work during the day.

Almost 180 bucks in my savings. This is good news. That is all money that I’ll be saving up to move out. Yes I know you’ve heard it before, but once I move out, I’ll be able to get more assistance with all kinds of stuff like Title 19, financing stuff at the mental health center, probably with paying for school, etc.

It becomes a little more evident every day, but moving out is something that I need to do.  I’ll stop right there because I’m pretty sure you’d be bored to death because you’ve heard it so many times before. I’m just wondering how much I should have saved up before I actually do move out… I was thinking maybe 3000+ bucks? Just so I could cover rent for a bit in case I had trouble finding a job… Which I know I will.

I’m not sure [about the amount] though. Any suggestions by you independent folk would be lovely.

That gets me thinking. When I actually do move out, I’ll have like no furniture or anything. I’ll have a few shelves that I used in the dorms, a small stand fan, a microwave, a small tv, and a vcr…. ^^; I’m betting my parents would let me use the futon, as we got a new couch and the futon is just chilling on our front porch. They might also let me use a rocking chair, as the two of them we have really don’t fit on the front porch too well.

OKAY! Enough of my mindless rambling. I don’t know when I’ll write an entry again but if work is interesting tomorrow I might write then.

🙂

One thought on “Gotta let it go…

  1. I am not sure who you are, even your gender, or where you are. But I admire your independence and grit. I will send you a check for more money to augment your savings account if you tell me your name and mailing address. I live in Kolkata, India and don’t have a lot of time to waste, so don’t worry. Keep up the good work. You remind me of myself when young, that’s part of it.

Leave a Reply

