And it’s a prime time, maybe the stars were right…

-the Alan Parsons Project

Well, I know you probably all (read, the 1.4 people who actually read this blog) think I’ve died, or gone to live with some internetless hippie commune in California, but that is not the case. I am still alive.  I just do most of my internet bitching on sites like facebook, or deviantart.

However, I have a new purpose for this blog. Well, I’m not going to like, rehaul it and drastically change everything it’s about.

It’s a new year, and even though new years resoultions are rarely kept, I am honestly going to use it as an excuse to better myself.

I have a nagging fear that this is going to turn into one of those lofty, inspire-the-masses soapbox speeches that gets forgotten about in a couple weeks, but I’m not going to let that happen (notice I didn’t say “I’ll try not to let that happen). This is one of many steps I hope to take.

Now, all of this would have been planned and enacted in time for the start of the new year, but Mother Nature did not pick a convenient time for my monthly gift, and in lieu of that I decided to give myself a week.
Even though that’s not how the entire year will go, fuck it, this is my plan, I’ll start a week late if I want.

This is my plan. Starting on Monday, things are going to change. I admit, I let myself pig out a little over the holiday knowing full well I had a plan in place.

Firstly, whenever possible, I’m going to start measuring out serving sizes. I’m sure we’ve all done it. Poured a bowl of cereal, looked at the box, and figured we were close enough to the serving size. Not anymore. I’m going to get out the measuring cups and measure out the cereal, and the milk. All the serving sizes I can, I will follow.  I also want to try to keep track of calories. Obviously, I can’t do that with food we make ourselves (that thusly don’t have nutrition facts) but, I will be keeping a numerical record of all the nutrition fact food, as well as portions for all the other food I eat. And… I’ll be posting it here.

Obviously, I’m going to be tempted to just leave off the less than desirable food I may be tempted to eat, but I’m hoping the fact that I have an internet community to answer to will help keep me from eating things I know I shouldn’t.

Every time I want to snack on something, I’m going to make myself a cup of tea. Now obviously, I don’t want to drink up all of our tea, but in the evening, at the computer, when I’m really tempted to snack on things, I’ll be making a cup of tea, or drinking a glass of water, or something to that effect. We also have some banana slices in the freezer that I may grab a couple of, to ward off the desire to munch on other things.

Let’s recap. Keeping track of everything I eat, recording the nutrition facts off the foods that have them, and making a cup of tea whenever I want to snack.

Also, I’m going to exercise for a minimum of 30 minutes, every day. This is hard for me, because I hate exercising with people home, almost to the point of having a phobia. I don’t know why, I just hate exercising when people could walk in on me, and it’s bad enough to deter me from doing anything.

I’m figuring, on the days that my dad works, he goes in at either 2pm or 3pm. Mom leaves for work at 7:30 in the morning, and gets home after 4. This gives me a small window of time in which I could exercise. Now, admittedly, it’ll be fun trying to convince my mother that I have exercised (the woman won’t believe I’ve done anything healthy without a witness, it seems), I don’t care. I know what I do, I don’t care if she agrees with or believes me.

Now, during this time, I’ll be taking advantage of my mother’s collection of workout dvds (and she has… more than a few. We’ll leave it at that). I’m thinking that I can alternate between using an exercise dvd one day, and a yoga dvd the next day, until I can handle doing both an exercise dvd and a yoga dvd in one day.

Let’s face it. As I first start this stuff, I’m sure I’m going to be pooped and muscles I’m not used to using will hurt. Also, sometimes I tend to be an ‘all or nothing’ kind of person. I don’t want to start it off slow, I want to go all GUNG HO and go all out right away. Which usually leads to me doing too much in one day, and being sore for three days afterwards, which deters me from continuing in such a workout routine.

However,  I want to gradually work myself up until I can do one of each every day.

The only thing I’m worried about are weekends, or days in which my dad does not work, thusly not guaranteeing me I’ll have time alone in the house. On these days, I’m prepared to either take advantage of unplanned time alone, or I’ll substitute going for a walk outside. I will cross that bridge when I come to it.

Okay. Recap, just so I don’t lose my place. Keep track of all portions, even calories/etc with foods that have nutrition facts, make a cup of tea every time I want to snack, and exercise for 30 minutes a day, adding on time as I get more and more used to it.

This all seems like elementary planning, and I’m sure my mother would have a choice guilt trip planned if I told her all of this (mainly, “I’ve been telling you that for ages”, etc) but for me, it’s kind of a lot.

Also, the matter of snacking. I’m going to start with two small snacks a day, if I so choose. A cup (measuring cup) of cereal. Some carrot sticks. Some celery.  Maybe one piece of chocolate, or a mini candy cane, or something.  I’d like to do that “GUNG HO” thing I like doing and promise to not have any at all, but we all know that would end with me coming back here a week later, going “SHIT, I FAILED” so… Two it is, and I’ll gradually come down from that.

And the best part is: I’m posting all this info here. Here.  It’s like having a workout buddy. You may not WANT to, but you do it anyway because people will know if you don’t.

Okay. That’s arrogant of me, because that assumes that anybody reads this blog (I don’t even need all my fingers to count you all), and also if you take my recycling blog as any indication of how regular a blogger I am, then you’ll be doubtful.

That will not happen with this. I’m going to post a link on my facebook every day, and I’ll be scared into knowing that people could potentially read it and see that I’ve failed to keep my promises to myself, and hopefully that will be enough to motivate me to keep with it.

So, one final recap, for my sake.

-Keeping track of what I eat, every day, counting the calories when I can

-Making a cup of tea every time I feel like snacking

-Keeping track of my two snacks a day

-Exercising for half an hour every day, also keeping track of that here.

Each day I will probably include any musings I had during that day, or other random information that I see fit to include, so the blog is still interesting to read and not incredibly dry and boring to read.

Which it already is, hence the reason nobody reads it. 😄

ANYWAY. I will see you all on Monday. Bring it on.

 

Leave a Reply

