But… these amps to go 11.

Day 11. Dammit. I don’t care what the clock says. It’s still Thursday. So keep that in mind when reading this. When I say “today”, I mean Thursday. I’m still in that “It’s Thursday” mindset.

Today was decent, as they go. I slept in a little later than I like (almost 9am) but that didn’t seem to adversely affect me.  Thank god this week is almost over. Then, for roughly three weeks, I will enjoy being female again. Lol.

Anyway. I don’t really remember what I did most of the day because it wasn’t that eventful. Did dishes, watched tv, that sort of thing. For breakfast, I had a bowl of generic cocoa pebbles.  For lunch, I had a bit of lettuce salad with chopped walnuts, and a bit of ranch, and dad gave me a cheeseburger from Wendy’s, as he’d gone there earlier and bought two cheeseburgers for himself (McDonalds wasn’t serving lunch yet, and those are his favorite). Personally I’m glad he went to Wendys (which he doesn’t like as much) because the sandwich was delicious.

Which is why I’m glad I don’t go to fast food restaurants much. Because that burger was seriously addictive. I’m glad there weren’t any more in the house, because I’d have been very tempted to eat another. We don’t eat fast food often…. Thankfully, my fear of the stigma of being a fat person in a fast food restaurant keeps my fast food consumption at a minimum.

I had one of these delicious bars I made (like… rum cake something or other bars. Supposed to use chocolate chips. I used butterscotch). XD

Anyhoo. For dinner, I had a bowl of tomato soup, and a grilled cheese sandwich. It was the best grilled cheese I’ve ever made. I used a slice of swiss style cheese (like kraft singles only it was generic, and swiss). Then, on top of that cheese, I put some finely chopped onion and a bit of finely chopped green pepper. Then I put a slice of regular American cheese on top, then the other piece of bread. It tasted fucking fantastic. I’m going to make mine like that all the time now.

Okay.  Now we’re going to back track a little. A couple hours after lunch, I got a wild idea. See, a few months ago I tried to make fondant from a recipe in our better homes and gardens cookbook that we’ve had for AGES, but we didn’t have corn syrup. So I used the cookbook’s suggested substitute, which was basically a teensy bit of extra sugar and water.

It never amounted to more than a sugary goop. Which I then made into a glaze by adding lemon juice. XD It served a purpose, just not the one I wanted to.

Fast forward to today. We had some corn syrup left over from recipes we made over the holidays, so I decided to take another crack at it. One of the reasons for that is… my parents are visiting my brother at college on Saturday. We don’t live that far away from his college, but they got a hotel room in the city to have a day to themselves… they’ll meet up with my brother for lunch. Mom is already going to take him some of the bars I made, but I figured I could make cupcakes, and then use that to justify making fondant.

I’ve decided I’m making chocolate cupcakes (from scratch), and I’m going to put raspberry jam inside them.  I’m going to make the same frosting I made for the bars and frost them with that. Then, I’m going to make little fondant decorations. Like, I thought I could make some of the cupcakes look like little presents. And I’ll put roses on some of them.

It’s going to be so much fun.

It’s times like this that I think about how much I like to bake and cook. I’ve said repeatedly that I enjoy cooking a lot, but I don’t want to work as a cook in a restaurant, because I’ve worked in kitchens (as dishwashers) and seen the torrent of bullshit the cooks go through, and I just know I wouldn’t be able to handle it.  Waitresses go through their share of crap too, just so you know I’m not ignoring them. Lol.

But… lately, cooking/baking is one of the few things that I’m happy doing.  It’s the feeling when I make something that works out really well, and when people eat it and like it, and they tell me how good it is… I just love that feeling.

It’s times like this that I go… you know, I know I’ve said I don’t want to cook as a career, but maybe I should think about it, as much as I enjoy the actual act of cooking. But then I go… but I love art and photography too.

I think what I’m going to do is, when I go back to the community college to finish my graphic arts degree (whenever that may be), I’ll see what sorts of cooking classes are available, and maybe consider taking a class and seeing how it goes.

In other news, in case you didn’t read yesterday’s entry (which I’m guessing you didn’t) my parents are going to be gone on Saturday. The entire day. And over night. Since I don’t have any booze money, I’m going to spend the night drinking caffeinated tea and watching movies, I think.

I have a movie due at the library on Saturday. I’m going to renew the rest, but the one that’s due has already been renewed once. So basically I have to walk to the library. I just hope it’s not 20 below zero like it is right now, with wind chill. I can pick up some soda, or cheap candy or something to eat during my movie marathon.

I know I’ll be watching Across the Universe, and maybe Labyrinth, but I’m not sure what else. If I had longer than a day and a night, I’d think about having a Heroes marathon. My dad’s got the entire series on dvd. I’d try to get all four seasons in in one day, but it took me three days to watch Season 1 alone, so I know it’s really not possible. Maybe if I had two days and nights. Then if I stayed up the whole time I might get through them all.

Okay. This blog is rambly enough. I’m off to mess about on the internet and stuff, then eventually to bed. Talk to you later. Stay safe everybody.

Leave a Reply

