In the half light of the evening / I can almost see you glow / Can tell by the way you’re moving / Time may be right to let you know…

-Duran Duran

Day 93. Yep. We’re nearing the 100 day mark.

It’s hard to believe. It seems like just a couple weeks ago it was new years, and now poof, it’s April.

The weather is getting nicer. That I am thankful for. Our local forecast calls for temps near 40 or slightly below for a couple days this week, so hopefully that is an isolated incident. I mean, I know it’s still only April but I am really ready for the world to wake up again. I mean. There are tons of birds and squirrels around. Our daffodils have already come up. Our rhubarb plant is growing nicely already, and the grass gets greener every day.

But honestly, if we get the snow the weatherman forecasted for later this week, I am not going to be a happy camper.

 

Breakfast:
+A cup of raspberry yoplait yogurt, and an english muffin with honey.

Lunch:
+Some turkey rice stuff

Dinner:
+Four faux chicken nuggets (morningstar farms) and five onion rings with half a serving of ranch dressing.

All I had aside from meals was a cup of greek yogurt and some dark chocolate m&ms mixed with not even half a cup of graham cracker type cereal.

I also got in two bike rides to the library.

Also I weighed myself, and while I’m too embarassed to admit to you how much I weigh, I’ll just say that I weigh now what I did two or three years ago. The highest my weight has ever been is just ten pounds higher than what I’m at right now

I have a lot of work to do, but it’s a start.

Part of me feels like I should have made more headway by now. I mean. I’ve been keeping this as a food journal for three months now and all I really have to show for it is the fact that I haven’t gained weight.

But that’s all I have to show physically. In other ways, this blog has been pretty helpful.

Like I’ve said many times before, I am now a lot more aware about what I’m eating and how much of it I have.

Also, the snacking.  The snacking has gotten a lot better (even though I still have a lot of room to improve).

Part of it is just getting used to it. Make it routine. Make it your habit.
At first I was having real problems changing my habits and behaviors concerning eating, but I am finding that it’s getting easier over time. And all because it’s becoming the norm.

It’s just becoming what I do naturally and I can only assume that that will get easier with time.

Areas I need to improve on right now are refining what I eat and the portions. I have reduced the sizing of portions that I eat but it is a little difficult to retrain yourself.

In America we have this problem of ridiculously large portion sizes and after not paying much attention to portion sizes for most of my life, it’s a little disconcerting to see what a normal serving size is.

With certain things, I’m starting to get to the point where I see a serving size as normal and anything more than that just looks like way too much food. An area that still needs lots of improvement is cereal.

My entire life, I’ve just poured cereal into the bowl and judged the portion by that. Once you look at the nutrition facts and find out that a serving size of cheerios is only 1 cup, it’s kind of a shocker. I know when I was first starting this project out, I couldn’t believe how lonely 1 cup of cheerios looked at the bottom of the normal sized cereal bowls I’ve been eating out of since I was a kid.

But yeah.  I have an art blog entry to post, and it’s getting a bit late, so I’m going to run off and post that, and then I’ll be off to bed.

Leave a Reply

