Day 130.

Well, we’ve hit day 130.

I can’t imagine that most of you give a crap, but I start my newspaper delivery route on Monday. There’s no turning back now. I’ve signed papers, talked with the newspaper guy, and I’ve already been given a big bag of rubber bands, and some little plastic bags for when it’s rainy out.

I’m also nervous because… it’ll still be kind of dark out at that hour It will be a lot harder to find the houses in the dark. I’m probably going to take this electric lantern thing that is my dad’s. I mean, I haven’t asked him yet, but I don’t think he would care.
However, that would mean I’d have to fix the basket I have for my bike. It’s only got one screw left and it’s officially not fit to carry stuff in. I mean. I biked home one day and it was hanging on by one screw. Awesome.
I would have to get that fixed if I wanted to put the lantern in the basket. I feel like that’s a better idea than just holding it, or having it hang on the bike handle.

I don’t know. I’m really having some second thoughts. It’s one thing to deliver shoppers in broad daylight, but it’s another to bike across town at 5 in the morning.

I guess I can’t really judge until I’ve actually started the route, but… I’m just wishing I’d kind of thought this through better. I was so desperate for any income I just kind of called the guy without thinking about the fact that I don’t have a car, and I have to bike in a populated area early in the morning.

For that reason, I decided to buy the cheapass insurance they offer for 5 bucks a month. If I had a car and was driving there I don’t think it’d be an issue, but since I’m biking, I would feel better having that insurance.

I probably won’t ever have to use it, but… For fuck’s sake. I’m a 24 year old with no college degree, living at home, and I’m getting a damn newspaper route. I can’t afford to pay any sort of bills in the event that I am injured on the job.

Still. My plan right now is to give the paper route a try during the summer. I didn’t want to tell the guy, but I probably won’t keep delivering when it gets cold. I can’t bike when it’s 20 degrees outside and the roads are all icy. And I probably won’t have my license back by then.

Also, I didn’t stop to consider how much it’s going to suck to get up at 4:30-5am to bike across town to deliver damn newspapers during that time of the month when I have terrible cramps.

It just seems like my mind keeps coming up with more and more reasons why I shouldn’t have said I would take it.

I am considering getting a shopper route, since that only has to be delivered one day a week. That would be the type of thing I could handle when it gets cold. The only thing is, as little money as you earn for delivering papers, you make even less for shoppers.

And really, that all depends on whether or not I find a permanent job. I have an interview at Best Buy tomorrow at 1. In the unlikely but still possible event that I get that job (or any other year round job), I’d only be delivering papers for the summer.

A lot of that is speculation. I wish I didn’t have to resort to having a paper route. And really. Part of me is wishing I hadn’t said I would do it but I guess that’s just what I’ve been reduced to. I’m flat broke so I don’t have many options.

Anyway, I’m really grumpy and tired, so I’m just going to get on with this.

Breakfast:
+Cereal

Lunch:
+maid rite on sandwich thins, with some taco chips and salsa

Dinner:
+ham, on sandwich thins, and some ruffles chips with light party dip

Also, I had some popcorn, a bowl of cereal, and some gummy bears. And I just remembered that we bought yogurt, so I’m going to have some yogurt. And probably another giant glass of water.

I’m also nervous because… it’ll still be kind of dark out at that hour It will be a lot harder to find the houses in the dark. I’m probably going to take this electric lantern thing that is my dad’s. I mean, I haven’t asked him yet, but I don’t think he would care.
However, that would mean I’d have to fix the basket I have for my bike. It’s only got one screw left and it’s officially not fit to carry stuff in. I mean. I biked home one day and it was hanging on by one screw. Awesome.
I would have to get that fixed if I wanted to put the lantern in the basket. I feel like that’s a better idea than just holding it, or having it hang on the bike handle.

Leave a Reply

