I read the news today, oh boy… {Day 134}

-The Beatles.

Actually that was a lie. I didn’t read the news today, unless Yahoo news counts. I just wanted to find a news related lyric in relation to the newspaper route I’m going to begin tomorrow. If I’m still delivering papers in February, I can sing along with American Pie and I will actually mean it, i.e. “but February made me shiver, with every paper I’d deliver…”.

Out of context lyrics for the win.

Anyway. Today was… windy and stormy. It was stormy and windy at the same time, and remained windy when the storms passed. It’s calmed down a bit now. Actually, I have even given some thought to biking my paper route to see if my plan will work, but I’m in the middle of eating dinner, and it is still windy enough to make bike riding a pain in the ass.

I will be getting up at 4:30, and seeing as I only  have 20 papers to deliver tomorrow, I think I should be able to do that. *knocks on wood* Don’t want to jinx myself. Lol.

Tentatively, I’m thinking it should take about half an hour for me to bag the papers and bike out to the area where my route is. That would put me there at 5am. Which would give me four and a half minutes to deliver each paper. And I seriously doubt that all the houses on my route are filled with cratchety old geezers who will phone in and complain if their paper isn’t there right at 6:30. And hey, if they do, it’s my first day. I’m pretty sure that most people starting a new job are allowed a mistake or two on their first day.

I won’t get paid until like, June 20th or so, but I seriously hope that there are still seats open at the Def Leppard/Heart concert at the Iowa State Fair in August. That is basically going to be my only so called frivolous purchase this entire summer; that and a pair of cheap 80s sunglasses. It’s quite possible that the entire first check I get will go towards that, because I do not want a seat way off to the side, in the nosebleeds. This could possibly be my only chance to see Def Leppard (or Heart, but mostly I care about DL) so… if there are still decent seats left when I get paid, I will be going for them.

ANYWAY.

Tonight I’m probably going to get to bed at like 9-9:30. I don’t know how tired I’ll be yet, but I want to go to bed early enough so that waking up at 4:30 won’t be so terrible. If I get to sleep around 9:30, I’ll get 7 hours of sleep, which is pretty much my normal amount anyway. I probably won’t get to sleep “right on time” as it were, but it should be fine.

Anyway.

Breakfast:
+A pancake

Lunch:
+a half cup of pretzels (I’m guessing, but it couldn’t have been much more than that) and a small slice of cheddar cheese. I ate lunch at like, after 2, and since we usually eat dinner at like… 5 or 6, I thought it was too close to dinner to eat an actual lunch like a sandwich or something.

Dinner:
+two pieces of thin cheese pizza, with two tiny flatbread wedges and probably a spoonful of spinach artichoke dip.

I also had a piece of this caramel candy with a nougat center, a rice krispie treat, a few small pieces torn off the leftover pancake, and I’ll probably eat a cup of yogurt and a couple fortune cookies later.

Leave a Reply

