Day 138…

I’d like to use song lyrics as my blog title today, but I’m listening to the same song that I borrowed lyrics from yesterday so… yeah. You get a number.

Today has been an okay day. Lots and lots better than yesterday.

I woke up at 4:20. I felt like I was almost running a little late. Either that, or I was working faster than normal, because I packaged the papers, biked out to my route, delivered all the papers, and was home at about 6:08.  I bet I could sleep in until 4:30 or 4:45 and still have all the papers delivered on time, but I like being early. Maybe I’ll work out a system where Monday through Friday, I sleep in until 4:30 or 4:45, and then of course on Saturday and Sunday I’d get up a little earlier because there are a few extra papers to deliver. I don’t know. I’ll figure it out.

I tried to sleep at around 7 or so, but it was so cold upstairs that it kept me awake. I was actually really cold for a good portion of the day. I later found out that there was a window in the living room that was slightly open. It was cold today anyway, but that didn’t help I’m sure.

I did end up biking to the grocery store to pick up some milk, and my legs are sore. And my knees are tired and kind of hurt. Yeah, I bike around a lot, but I’m just not used to biking that far consistently, every damn day.

I know I’ll get used to it eventually, but that doesn’t help me much right now. So far I haven’t had much problem getting up so early. I pretty much wake up at the right time and don’t have to be pulled out of a deep sleep. Then again, if I don’t start getting to bed at or before 10 pm, the lack of sleep might catch up with me after a while.

I know of two dates in June that I’ll be gone with family. Well. I only know that I have a substitute for one of those dates, the other I have to make sure the guy can do that one, or else I have to contact the lady who used to deliver my route, because I was told she may be able to sub for me.

I am enjoying this route for now, but I have to say. As it’s looking now, I will probably put in my month’s notice some time in mid to late October.  It’s all well and good to deliver papers when the weather is decent, but once it gets snowy and icy, I just can’t see myself biking several miles a day, every day. Should I stop delivering papers when winter comes, I will make up the exercise with at least 45 minutes a day on the exercise bike. I do not want to let myself fall back too much.

I know that’s nothing I have to worry about right now, but I like talking it out ahead of time.

Anyway. I need to hurry up and submit this, an art blog entry, and then get to bed. Dammit, I will be in bed before 11pm tonight.

Breakfast:
+a bowl of cereal

Lunch:
+A cup or so of cottage cheese, and a piece of cornbread.

Dinner:
+This weird soup that was in a vegan cookbook my mom got as a gift once (We’re not vegans or vegetarians, but we like having meals that don’t include meat sometimes). It had tomatoes, rice, and navy beans in it. With some garlic, olive oil, and a few spices. It was actually really good. Coupled with the cornbread I made this morning, it was really awesome.

Also today, I had a couple other pieces of cornbread. I also had a tiny pastry made with a tiny bit of leftover pie crust and a small bit of leftover filling from when I made a rhubarb meringue pie a week or so ago. And I had a bowl of cereal, besides the one I had at breakfast. I believe that’s it for today, actually.

Leave a Reply

