This doesn’t make any sense.

One of my faults is that I can occasionally be afraid to get into any sort of discussion about politics or the like. Partly for feeling inadequately prepared for such a discussion. I’m not as informed/educated about that sort of thing as I would like, and I’m afraid someone will call me out on it. Another thing is, I don’t like getting into the sort of discussion that gets heated and gets everyone angry at one another for no good reason.

However, I would like to briefly discuss a news story I read online, which can be found here: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=%2Fc%2Fa%2F2011%2F12%2F03%2FBUPA1M7IAH.DTL

If you read the article, it’s discussing the disturbing prospect that many employers are putting out classified ads stating that the ‘unemployed need not apply’.

This makes no sense. With unemployment being what it is today, and with so many people having such trouble finding work, that kind of thing worries me.

I can’t say for certain because nobody can, but it seems like these are the kind of people that believe good things happen to good people, and bad things happen to bad people. In some respects, that’s true, but good people can come upon hard times (i.e. losing their job). How are they going to get their lives back if employers think like that?

Do those kind of people think if something bad happens to you, you whole heartedly deserve it?

Speaking from experience, sometimes it’s true that you do stupid things and you have to put up with the stupid consequences as a result. Some of those people don’t learn their lesson and continue to do stupid shit. However, some people actually learn from it and wish they’d never done whatever it was that they did, and they need help getting their lives back on track.

I think it comes down to people who think if you don’t have a job, you’re a lazy no talent slob who doesn’t ‘want’ to work.

In some cases, that’s true. Before the job I got in August of this year, I hadn’t had an hourly wage job since 2009. More of that time than I’d like to admit was spent not wanting to get a job, but after about a year of that, I was trapped in this “I need money to get my license back to get to a job interview to get a job to get the money I need to get my license back” kind of merry go round situation.

I had this problem where there were hardly any job postings in the newspaper, and the few jobs that were posted were like… truck drivers,  CNAs,  School administrators, and the like. The sort of job that requires some higher education. Education that I couldn’t afford due to being unemployed.

I would apply to a bunch of stores but because most of them weren’t actively hiring, I didn’t find anything.

When I applied to the store that I now cashier at, I had no idea that it was going to come to fruition at all. I thought it was going to be another hopeless drop in the bucket.

If it weren’t for that job, I’d be one of the thousands of unemployed people, having to jump over yet another hurdle to get our lives back on track. It’s asinine shit like “unemployed need not apply” that really pisses me off.

And really, I still have this horrible fear that I’ll lose my job and be right back where I started, with no money feeling like I have no means with which to better myself.

That’s really what it felt like when I didn’t have a job. I was so hopeless because I couldn’t afford to do anything. There was really a point where I felt like I’ve never get a job, and that it would get to the point where my parents would one day just ship me off to the homeless shelter.

It’s a horrible feeling.

And, I don’t know. I’m not saying there should be reverse discrimination for people who are unemployed (because there are people working at jobs they hate who would like to get a better job), but we shouldn’t be seeing that someone is unemployed and throwing out their application.

 

I really wish I had a better talent with writing so I’d get my point across better. That’s another of the things I worry about. My writing isn’t SUPER ELOQUENT AND AWESOME so I worry I won’t be taken seriously because of it.  I’d be better discussing this with someone face to face.

For now I feel like that’s all the eloquence I can manage but I’ll probably tweak this a bit when I have the presence of mind for it.

 

Leave a Reply

