Obligatory Happy new year 2012 post.

LOL. It’s not an obligation. I’d have done it anyway.

Well well. What can I say about 2011? At the beginning of 2011, I decided to keep a food journal. My plan was to keep it up every day for a year. Even though that didn’t happen, I’ve made lots of progress on that front. Maybe not in the immediate past, because let’s face it, everyone goes a little nuts with food around the holidays.

Early in the summer of 2011, I decided to get a newspaper route because I was having considerable trouble finding work.  I had to bike up to 5 miles a day for that, depending on the roads I took. In between making smarter food choices and delivering the newspaper from early June through late September, I lost about 40 pounds, give or take a couple.

I stopped delivering the paper on September 24th. It was getting increasingly cold in the mornings, and I straight out told the guy who got me started and had me sign paperwork that since I was riding a bike, it was highly likely I’d have to stop delivering once it got too cold. Also, there’s something about waking up at 5am every morning that kind of lords itself over you. I miss watching the world wake up and seeing the sunrise, but I probably wouldn’ t ever get a paper route again, unless I lived somewhere that didn’t have such drastic seasonal changes.

It was fun delivering papers but at the same time, it kind of sucked some of the fun out of my summer. I didn’t want to go anywhere or do anything during the day because “I have the paper tomorrow”. And I couldn’t go anywhere overnight without getting a sub to deliver my papers, so it took away some of that spontaneity of summer. Overall, it was fun though, and I’m glad I did it.

In August, since I had finished my paper route, I was back to putting in a lot of job applications online, since I didn’t have a car I could hop in to drive to a bunch of places to apply.

By chance I got an interview at kmart. I’d had one there before, a couple years prior, and didn’t ever hear anything from that. I didn’t have high hopes but I decided I was going to go all out for this one. I did some online research, both on the company, and just interviews in general. What I should say. What I should ask. That sort of thing.

When it was time for the interview, I dressed WAY too nice. Like I would to go to a wedding. I figured that couldn’t hurt. I even wore heels I could barely walk in.

I was still kind of apprehensive about it, because I haven’t had a lot of prior luck with interviews. So I was pretty surprised when whoever interviewed me told me at the end of it that when the background check came back clean (which I knew it would, save for what I already told them about) that I would have the job.

Those were the biggest changes in 2011. Prior to getting that job in August, I hadn’t had an hourly wage job since 2009, so it’s taken some getting used to. I’m only part time right now, but with the state of the economy, jobs and all that jazz, I’m lucky to have a job at all. The longest shift I work is 5 and a half hours, but it’s usually closer to 4 and a half. I know such a small shift would seem like a welcome vacation to some of you full timers, but it’s been so difficult for me to find a job that I can’t afford to complain. Also, with the back and knee problems I have that I can’t afford to have looked at, I can’t really stand like that for 8 hours at a time anyway.

What do I want to accomplish in 2012? I’m not quite sure yet. I want to keep on with being healthier. If I lost another 40 pounds this year it wouldn’t hurt my feelings at all. I would like to lose more than that, but I think the slower you lose weight the more likely you are to keep it off.  So I’ll be patient.

In 2012, I want to pay off my fine and get my driver’s license back. I want to maybe start taking community college classes again so I can finish that degree and start considering going to a university. I’m not entirely sure yet.

Throughout the year, I discovered new music, old music that was new to me, and music I’d loved before that I was ready to listen to again.  This entry is long enough, so I’ll take the liberty to put all that music in a separate post.

http://careofclearlake.blogspot.com/2012/01/music-of-my-2011.html

Also, in 2011, I got my first paid job as an artist. A friend of my mother’s was looking for someone to design a logo for a shrimp farm in Texas. She suggested I try my hand at designing a logo. I did, and the company decided to use it. When I cash the check, I’ll have made 100 dollars, which will officially make it the first time someone paid me to create art.

Speaking of art, I have one more accomplishment I’d like to add here. Towards the beginning of 2011, I decided to try my hand at a post a day art blog, where I’d post something new every day for a year. That didn’t last all year either. It got up into the 200s, but after that, I couldn’t do it anymore. It led me to create some great art that I might not have done if it weren’t for my project, but I discovered most of my art is much too complex to produce something brand new every single day. You can go through old entries there if you like.

http://bluesilversartproject.blogspot.com/

When I ended that one, I decided to begin an art blog with a more forgiving timeline. I decided that I was going to illustrate/take a picture for every Thomas Dolby song.

http://cornerofmymindseye.blogspot.com/

In addition to being a place to post my artistic interpretations of Mr. Dolby’s work, the blog quickly grew into a music art blog in general, since so much of my art is inspired by what I listen to.

Leave a Reply

