Howard Jones concert in 7 days.

Hey guys. I know it’s been a while (over 2 months) since I’ve updated here, but given how rarely anyone reads these, I don’t really feel bad. Nobody is probably missing anything.

However, I have had this blog since what, 2006? So I would like to continue to use it once in a while.

I’ve not really been doing much, other than working, and swearing like a sailor. It’s still only part time work, but standing for just four hours at a time can be incredibly hard on my back. I’m still contemplating going back in to the chiropractor and setting up monthly visits, and a payment plan for that (which they let people do) but for now I suppose I’m getting by in that regard.

Anyhoo, in seven days, I will be attending a Howard Jones concert in Minneapolis.

While I was standing in line to get into the Thomas Dolby concert back in April, someone was going around handing out little fliers for a Howard Jones concert. I shrugged and thought little of it. I figured I wouldn’t be able to swing it since I’d already blown a huge amount of money on the Dolby concert.

Little over a month ago, I was looking at the flier (which is on nice cardstock, and just a little larger than an average postcard), and ran some numbers in my head, and figured I would be able to afford to go

The ticket cost 30 bucks, and the round trip bus ticket was like, 74. Now, I’m poor, have bills to pay, toiletries to buy, and food to help pay for, so this concert may seem a little frivolous, and in a way I suppose it is.

I think of it like this. I will have the rest of my life to pay off debt. I will not have the rest of my life to see people like this in concert. I expect at least one more album (and thusly, tour) out of Thomas Dolby, but for some of these other artists I like, I honestly don’t know how much longer they’ll be performing.

That is one of two really shitty things about liking music that is 30-40+ years old.  The other being that I get to slowly watch all my favorite musicians get old and subsequently die. That’s not a problem fans of today’s music generally have.

At this concert, I am going to want to be there so ridiculously early I can’t stand it. I haven’t called upon my friend Phoebe for this one, so I won’t be staying there. I’m honestly not sure what I’m going to be doing exactly.

My bus leaves here at 7:45 in the morning, so I will get to Minneapolis just before 11am.  I have in my phone the number of a cab service that operates in Minneapolis, so I figure that after I’ve eaten some lunch and explored a little, I can call a cab and have them drop me off at the Varsity theatre, which is where this concert is at. I am not lying when I say I want to be at the theatre probably 2 hours before the doors open. Maybe even more.

It sounds a little bit excessive, but after my Dolby concert experience, I do not want to be towards the end of the line.

It’s general admission, but I’m not sure if there will be chairs set up (as there were with the Dolby concert).  Whether or not there are chairs, after entry I will be making a beeline for front and center, and I will not move a muscle until the music starts playing, in which case I will grooving of course.

The wait for this concert was not nearly as torturous as the wait for the Dolby concert. Mainly because I bought my ticket for the Dolby concert in like, January, and the concert wasn’t until April. I didn’t buy the ticket for the Howard Jones concert until about a month ago, so I haven’t had as long to wait. And, for a little while, it was on the back burner. It was always on my mind, but I essentially forgot about it for a little while, only starting to get really excited a couple days ago.

It’s going to be a lot of fun, mainly because there are some unknowns. I don’t know what I’m going to do before or after the concert. After the concert I may just call a cab to take me back to the bus station, and I’ll just kill time and let me see if they’ll let me take the bus that leaves at 5:45 in the morning on the 27th, instead of the 12:30pm one my return ticket is for. I don’t know.

Anyway, this is already a little longer than I planned it being, so I’m going to run off and do other internet things, maybe make a shave ice, whatever. See you later

Leave a Reply

