So it would seem we’ve still got a long long way to go

I’ve seen all I wanna see today…”

-Phil Collins, ‘Long long way to go’.

Greetings, ladies and germs.

Work was beyond dead today. As far as work days go, it was an all right day, but I got just a little torked at more than one point.

It was okay for the servers to sit around more than half the day, just talking and basically doing nothing, but I couldn’t stop doing something for two seconds without being told to find something to do, or being asked if somebody needed to find me something to do.

Fuck’s sake, dude.

Apparently it’s not called ‘wasting time’ until I’m seen doing it, and I didn’t even waste that much time. If there was something I could be doing, I did it, but there are only so many things I can do.

I can only sweep so many times.  I can only wash windows so many times. I washed them twice as it was (because apparently I didn’t do it right the first time; nevermind that most of the grime is on the outside of the window).

I couldn’t help it if there was literally nothing for me to do. It is not my fault for being scheduled on a day when they clearly did not need me. If you’re stupid enough to schedule someone who technically does not need to be there,  you almost deserve to pay them to do nothing. It’s her [the boss lady’s] loss, really, because she’s the one paying an extra employee. Seems to me that you’d want to schedule the least amount of employees you could get by with, so you’d save money on wages. Whatever.

I’m not going to complain too badly about it, because whether or not I was needed today, I still made 40 bucks. I didn’t even mind being at work that much. With the exception of the inactivity, it really wasn’t a bad day. It’s just the principle of the thing. Being told to find something to do when there really is nothing more I can do, you know?

Whatever. So. I lied about my flowers yesterday. You know how I said they’d look like this:

.

Well, one of the buds opened up today, and they are actually the same color as this one:

With the red outside petals and deep purple inside ones. It was a pleasant surprise.

Well, today was my brother’s last day of school, and my mom’s as well (she’s a librarian/teacher), so the family is going out to eat. I will be back tomorrow to rant about my day (which will be much, much busier than today was).

🙂